Here’s the longlist for the 2024 International Booker Prize. ‹ Literary Hub


Literary Hub

March 11, 2024, 10:33am

Today, the International Booker Prize—which seeks to honor the best novels and short story collections in translation published in the UK and/or Ireland every year—announced its 2024 longlist.

The 13 books on this year’s longlist were selected from 149 books published between May 1, 2023 and April 30, 2024 and submitted by publishers; this year’s judges are broadcaster and journalist Eleanor Wachtel, as chair, poet Natalie Diaz, novelist Romesh Gunesekera, visual artist William Kentridge, and writer, editor and translator Aaron Robertson.

Here’s the longlist:

Not a River by Selva Almada, translated by Annie McDermott

Simpatía by Rodrigo Blanco Calderón, translated by Noel Hernández González and Daniel Hahn

Kairos by Jenny Erpenbeck, translated by Michael Hofmann

The Details by Ia Genberg, translated by Kira Josefsson

White Nights by Urszula Honek, translated by Kate Webster

Mater 2-10 by Hwang Sok-yong, translated by Sora Kim-Russell and Youngjae Josephine Bae

A Dictator Calls by Ismail Kadare, translated by John Hodgson

The Silver Bone by Andrey Kurkov, translated by Boris Dralyuk

What I’d Rather Not Think About by Jente Posthuma, translated by Sarah Timmer Harvey

Lost on Me by Veronica Raimo, translated by Leah Janeczko

The House on Via Gemito by Domenico Starnone, translated by Oonagh Stransky

Crooked Plow by Itamar Vieira Junior, translated by Johnny Lorenz

Undiscovered by Gabriela Wiener, translated by Julia Sanches

The winning author and translator will split a prize of £50,000; the author and translator of each shortlisted title will be awarded £5,000 to split. This year’s shortlist will be announced on April 9th, and the winner will be revealed at a ceremony on May 21. In the meantime, might as well get to reading.

View original source here

Articles You May Like

‘Outlander’ Star Sam Heughan Opens Up About Emotional End of Series (VIDEO)
SZA to be second Black woman receive award from Songwriters Hall Of Fame
Writers Union Reaches Deal With Workshop
Airbnb CEO’s 10-Year, $1 Billion Pay Package
Quentin Tarantino Won’t Now Make ‘The Movie Critic’